In Arnstadt composed

Präludium and Fuge a-moll / BWV 551
Fantasia C-Dur / BWV 570
Fantasia h-moll / BWV 563
Fuge c-moll / BWV 574
Fuge c-moll / BWV 575
Präludium Trio and Fuge C-Dur / BWV 545
Präludium E-Dur / BWV 566
Präludium G-Dur / BWV 568
Präludium and Fuge C-Dur / BWV 531
Präludium and Fuge c-moll / BWV 549
Präludium and Fuge e-moll / BWV 533
Präludium and Fuge G-Dur / BWV 550
Präludium and Fuge g-moll / BWV 535
Toccata and Fuge d-moll / BWV 565

The Bach organ in Arnstadt

In the Neue Kirche in Arnstadt, Johann Sebastian Bach got his first job as organist at the age of 18. The Weimar church council had sent the young, talented musician to Arnstadt, and the ecclesiastical committee, elated by his ability, immediately offered him the position of organist. He held that position from 1703 to 1707. Under his advice, Johann Friedrich Wender built a new organ in 1703. Some of the current pipes from the plenum are well preserved and are the example of the intonation of pipes to Bach's preference.

When I got to know the organ in 1990 shortly after the fall of the Mauer and played the seven still original registers, I was surprised by intense chiff and the singing-rich sounds. Inspired by these timbres, Bach wrote at least fourteen great works and there is no better organ to study these works and thereby experience the lively virtuosity of the young Bach. The striking sound characteristics are detailed stored in the samples and in my living room I now can hear the organ in the special style of the Middle German Baroque, as I got to know in Arnstadt.

Oberwerk and Brustwerk) are housed in one cabinet. The Oberwerk offers no less than 6 eight-foot registers, a sparkling Principal 8', Quint 6', Octave 4, Mixtuur, Cymbel and Trumpet. The Brustwerk has 7 registers. Special is the lovely sounding Nachthorn 4', a wide scaled flute with a narrow labium. Although the organ offers few aliquots, there are many possibilities to color the sound with a large color range in the various basic registers of wide, normal and small scales. The Pedal is limited to 4 stops, including a solo reed Cornet 2'.
In 1935, the Neue Kirche was renamed Johann-Sebastian-Bach-Kirche on the occasion of the famous musician's 250th birthday.

Orgelbau Otto Hoffmann in Ostheim made the wind chets, the mechanism and all other interiors in 1999 in a detailed reconstruction of the Wender organ. Hoffmann's work was carried out according to the church's original agreement with Wender in 1699. Some missing registers were reconstructed to contemporary examples; Posaune and Trumpet after Lahm (Herbst, 1728), Cornet after Abbenrode (Contius, 1708).
In the workshop of Orgelbau Hoffmann I learned how to make metal pipes in the style of the Baroque.

Principal             8' 
Viol de gamb      8'
Quintadena        8'
Grob Gedakt       8'
Gemshorn          8'
Quinta              6'
Octava              4'
Mixtur              IV
Cimbel              II
Trompet             8'
Still Gedakt        8'
Principal            4'
Spitz flöte         4'
Nachthorn         4'
Quinte              3'
Sexquialtera      II
Mixtur              III
Sub Bass          16'
Principal Bass     8'
Posaunen Bass  16'
Cornet Bass       2'

Cymbalstern C
Cymbalstern G
Calcant bell